Breathing Wrong?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
phonebeard

Breathing Wrong?

Post by phonebeard » Tue May 17, 2016 7:24 am

I have been using a CPAP machine for two months, with no noticeable improvement and am getting frustrated. I changed my doctor and liked the new guy. He explained a lot more and made some tweaks to my machine, increasing the initial pressure.

My first night with the new settings was a bad experience. I woke up feeling even worse than before.

Some background. I am mostly a mouth breather. I use a full face mask. Over the two months I have been using it I have been gradually increasing the tightness of the fit because of small leaks which wake me up. But I think my main problem is the way I breath. I start out breathing through my mouth because my nose is usually stuffy when I go to bed. My natural breathing pattern is to breath in slowly and out fast (I didn't know that this was not the right way to breathe!). This is fine at low pressure, but gets harder as the pressure increases. I work up this morning breathing shallowly, finding it difficult to breath out enough to empty my lungs to then get another breath in. It was a relief to take off the mask, but it took a while for my breathing to settle down to something like normal (i.e. to breath without noticing.)

So, what should someone like me, who breaths in slow and out fast, mostly though my mouth, do? Are there settings on the machine that will help?

I have another appointment with the doctor in a month, but I think I need help quicker than that.

LSAT

Re: Breathing Wrong?

Post by LSAT » Tue May 17, 2016 7:29 am

Most machines have a pressure relief to help when exhaling. If you would give some information regarding the machine you are using we may be able to help you. Go to the control panel and fill in your equipment profile.

vader06

Post by vader06 » Tue May 17, 2016 7:31 am