Auto CPAP for travel? where to even start?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
grizfan

Auto CPAP for travel? where to even start?

Post by grizfan » Sun Jul 02, 2017 2:21 pm

Hi - I've been using the DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500H11 for nearly 2 years now, and have been very fortunate with the results. It's set to 10, and I use the humidifier every night (but where I live, humidity under 20% is pretty common).

So... I travel internationally 3 or 4 times a year (US to UK mostly), with a few other flights/road trips mixed in. Fortunately, everywhere I go, I have access to electricity. For all the positive experience I've had with my DreamStation, it's not the best traveling device. Big, bulky and with an external power brick. I typically load it in my backpack with my computer and other gear for carry-on (I try to avoid checking backs when possible). I'd really like something smaller & lighter for travel, and as a backup, just in case something goes wrong with my main machine. But, I don't know where to start.

Should I start with my sleep doc? I may not get an appointment in time for my next big trip at the end of the month. Also, my local medical supply store seems to be a lot more expensive than what I see online. So, some specific questions.
* do I need a prescription?
* do I need my doc to setup a new machine?
* any possible insurance complications if I use the new machine too much?

I'm hoping to find a fairly inexpensive (less than $500) small travel machine. I'm also hoping that the much higher humidity where I visit in the UK will allow me to go without a humidifier. Not sure if I need one I can use on the actual flight (thought that would be nice). I've managed on previous flights.

so, any thoughts on how to approach this and any recommendations on a good model to buy?

thanks!

Additional Comments: DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500H11
DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500H11 with humidifier, DreamWear nasal pillow mask

LSAT