Now have central apnea since starting CPAP therapy

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
caynana

Now have central apnea since starting CPAP therapy

Post by caynana » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:30 pm

I'm a newbie and have only been on CPAP therapy just over 2 weeks. My sleep lab AHI was 9/hr. I had no central apneas in the sleep lab. Now that I've started therapy, I have lots of clear airway/central apneas showing up. In fact, my central apneas are now more than my obstructive apneas many nights. I was told that central apneas are "not good", so I'm concerned about this new development and wonder what could be causing it and if there's anything I can do about it.

Pugsy

Re: Now have central apnea since starting CPAP therapy

Post by Pugsy » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:49 pm

Who told you "not good" and how many centrals are you seeing?

What machine are you using? Exactly what pressures are you using?
If using some form of exhale relief...exactly what setting?

As for what is causing it....assuming they are real centrals it just happens to some people when cpap pressure gets added to the mix.
It's called complex sleep apnea and as to what can be done about it...several ways to go about fixing it and which choice depends on just how bad it is.

It might just resolve on its own with a bit of time as the body gets used to things.
You might need a different machine of some sort.

This video explains the why it happens
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CU-XTcf ... e=youtu.be
Now it is put out by ResMed and they do on to promote their special machine for dealing with centrals...and you may or may not need that type of machine so don't jump to panic mode about thinking about a different machine.

Your doctor will decide on the appropriate therapy and he may opt for the "give it time" thing as the first option because sometimes it works.
There might also be some tweaks that could be tried with your current machine...wouldn't hurt and might help.