Cant sleep

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
souldin1

Cant sleep

Post by souldin1 » Mon May 07, 2018 6:40 am

Hello,
So i am new to this and i am on my 5th day, i am having trouble going to sleep with the cpap. i am fine when i am laying trying to sleep but right when im about to fall alseep, you know when your asleep but not asleep and can still hear everything around you, ill kinda wake up in a panic trying to breath and haft to take a deep breath. IDK if this is just me freaking out because this is new and im not used to it or if something is wrong? any help would be great.

my pressure right now is at 8.5 - 20

rcobourn

Re: Cant sleep

Post by rcobourn » Mon May 07, 2018 6:45 am

souldin1 wrote:Hello,
So i am new to this and i am on my 5th day, i am having trouble going to sleep with the cpap. i am fine when i am laying trying to sleep but right when im about to fall alseep, you know when your asleep but not asleep and can still hear everything around you, ill kinda wake up in a panic trying to breath and haft to take a deep breath. IDK if this is just me freaking out because this is new and im not used to it or if something is wrong? any help would be great.

my pressure right now is at 8.5 - 20
For me, the solution to this was to up the pressure. I feel starved for air at anything under 10.5. If you have the ramp setting turned on, turning it off might help.

souldin1

Post by souldin1 » Mon May 07, 2018 6:56 am

OK let me try and up it, it was set to 7 and i could not breath out of my nose and was informed to move it to 8 or 9 and that did help. Ill give this a shot.

rcobourn

Post by rcobourn » Mon May 07, 2018 7:40 am

souldin1 wrote:OK let me try and up it, it was set to 7 and i could not breath out of my nose and was informed to move it to 8 or 9 and that did help. Ill give this a shot.