CPAP mask straps way too tight!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
krr643500

CPAP mask straps way too tight!

Post by krr643500 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:40 am

Hello everyone!
First the preliminary info:
CPAP: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset with Humidifier
Mask: Resmed Airsense 20 Full Face Mask
Pressure setting: 14.0

Heres my issue. Ive been using my CCPAP for five months now and up until a few weeks ago the mask was fitting very comdortably at night. I actually looked forward to sleeping with it because it was so confortable. Then about three weeks ago i noticed i had to begin tightening the straps tighter and tighter to prevent massive leaking. I contated my DME provider and was sent a new facemask. The leaks have stopped bur i still have to keep tge straps so tight it has becone extremely uncomfortable. I wake up now with need groives in my face from the straps. Even with the new mask if i try to loosen the straps the pressure literally lifts the mask off my face creating leakage. I did not have this problem when i started my therapy and Im at a loss as to what to do about this so any advice would be appreciated. Im worried if i have my pressure decreased it will affect my sleep apnea and make it worse but the discomfort i feel with the mask on is becoming intolerable.

Grace and peace to you all,
Kevin R

LSAT

Re: CPAP mask straps way too tight!

Post by LSAT » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:12 am

These masks are not intended to be worn tight. The silicone cushion inflates with the pressure and if you pull it too tight the cushion cannot inflate...that's what makes the seal. Suggest that you have the machine running when you put on the mask so the cushion is inflated as you place it against your face.

Sissy63

Post by Sissy63 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:37 am