New BiPap S/T User

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
tsduke

New BiPap S/T User

Post by tsduke » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:22 pm

I've been using a Dreamstation Bipap S/T now for about a week. My AHI #'s since start are as follows. 7.8, 17.1 11.1, 8, 9, 7.1, 7.4. In that time I've had just 2 total obstructive apnea. I've had some night with 10 and 13 clear airway, but the rest were 0-3 CA's. The high number I see every day is total hypopnea which has ranged from 32 - 118.

I know I'm new to therapy and assuming some of this may improve as my body gets used to sleeping with therapy, but I'm curious how the total hypopneas are managed/reduced. As I understand it they are basically periods of shallow breathing. Are higher pressures used to reduce them?

Are my AHI #'s normal for a new user?

I don't go back to my sleep doctor until 6 weeks after starting use so just looking for some insight. Thanks!

Pugsy

Re: New BiPap S/T User

Post by Pugsy » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:30 pm

Hypnoneas are NOT just shallow breathing.
They are reductions in air flow of at least 40% to 79% that last at least 10 seconds. The criteria is specific.
tsduke wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:22 pm
Are my AHI #'s normal for a new user?
When the settings aren't correct...unfortunately I guess it is normal and that's sad.

Did they do an in lab titration sleep study with you and this machine to come up with the settings they are using?

What are all the settings they are using?

What was your diagnosis that earned you this type of machine?

If you want to try the Eclipse mask and want a special promo code to get a little off the price...send me a private message.

tsduke

Post by tsduke » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:51 pm

Yes, a titraction study was done. I can't say if it was the exact same model but it was a dreamstation bipap from what I could see. I know they started the night in CPAP and ended up on bipap get elimiate obstructions and get more even breathing.