Should my mask be venting?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Rainmom17

Should my mask be venting?

Post by Rainmom17 » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:19 am

Hi all, this is my first time on in quite awhile. In general, cpap therapy is going well. However, I recently put on all new everything - hose, mask, connector. Same products I’ve always used - mask is a Resmed AirFit F20 - just replacing the older parts. With my previous mask and connector (elbow connector from mask to hose), there were vents. As I slept, air blew out of those vents (I think on my exhale). With the new connector, there aren’t any vents. When I place my hand in front of my mask, no air blows out. Aren't there supposed to be vents? Ive used it for about a week, and I’m feeling a bit suffocated. Last night I had a full blown panic attack from a suffocated feeling with my machine. First time that’s happened in the 2+ years I’ve used cpap. I ended up sleeping without machine - also for the first time since I started - because it made me so anxious. So, I’d love to hear from you. Should air be blowing out of vents as I sleep? Just to be clear, it wasn’t a leak in the past - there were clearly vents in the connector. I always found the blowing air soothing, although my husband didn’t like when it blew on him!
Thanks in advance.

LSAT

Re: Should my mask be venting?

Post by LSAT » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:26 am

Of course there are vents...you would suffocate without them. When your machine is running put your hand in front of the elbow and feel the air escaping. There are small holes in a circle around the elbow...those are vents. The air is diffused so it may not feel as strong as with other masks.
Last edited by LSAT on Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

palerider

Post by palerider » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:26 am

Rainmom17 wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:19 am