Sensitive Skin

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
SleepHarmony

Sensitive Skin

Post by SleepHarmony » Tue Dec 15, 2020 1:51 pm

I'm new to the world of CPAP; started mid-October. I first started out with the N30i nasal mask. I found it comfortable and easy to sleep on my side but apparently I'm a "mouth-breather". I consulted with my contact at the medical supply store and "we" decided to try the F20 full mask with the foam edge. Not good! It appears I was sensitive to the foam. So, the next step was another F20 full mask but with the silicone edge. Again, not good. It felt like I had sticky tape on my face. Plus the F20 masks left a heavy red mark on the bridge of my nose and puffy eyes lasting most of the morning into the afternoon. Now I'm using the F30i full mask and it seems to be working under certain conditions. The F30i also has the silicone edge but, I've found a bit of relief from the sticky feeling. I've tried making cloth barriers out of flannel, too scratchy, and 100% cotton, too scratchy. Haven't tried silk yet (silly I know but I'm desperate.) So, believe it or not, putting a light layer of baby powder on my face helps. (I can hear you all laughing after that comment. It's okay. You don't have to see me nor smell the powder, so there. And my husband is just fine with it all. LOL!)

Are there any other suggestions that will help with the irritation of the mask? I appreciate your help. I want this whole CPAP thing to work. Thanks!

LSAT

Re: Sensitive Skin

Post by LSAT » Tue Dec 15, 2020 2:22 pm

Contact padacheek.com for mask cushions.

Julie

Post by Julie » Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:30 pm

Some people apply lotion, etc. before bed without considering possible effect on mask wearing... if this happens to be the case, you may want to reconsider using anything on your face prior to bed.

chunkyfrog
Location: Nebraska--I am sworn to keep the secret of this paradise.

Post by chunkyfrog » Tue Dec 15, 2020 8:55 pm

LSAT wrote: