Aussie Heated Hose Problem

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
sirrom

Aussie Heated Hose Problem

Post by sirrom » Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:21 am

I have been using the heated hose for the past two years with great success but last week on a camping vacation with my family I started to get massive rain out. We were tent camping and a few nights got quite cold so I figured that was the problem but now that I am home I am still having some problems.

For those folks that use the heated hose, how long has yours lasted? Has anyone had theirs stop working and how long did it last?

I am trying to figure out if it is the heating element in the tube or perhaps the AC adapter I use with it.

I am hoping it is the adapter which won't hurt the pocket book quite as much.

Thanks for any help.

Snoozing Gonzo

Post by Snoozing Gonzo » Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:42 am

I am not as good a searcher as others here but there have been a couple of series of posts regarding heated hose problem diagnoses. Those go as far as checking resistance, etc. Unless there is a break in the wire element in the hose, which seems to be rare, the problem is probably in the plug or transformer.

I would say to first plug it in and put it under a pillow or in a bag for a bit then feel it to see if its on at all. Then I would check your plug on the hose. If the center post doesn't firmly touch the inside of the transformer's plug barrel, you'll have a problem like you're describing. The solution is to carefully bend the post slightly so it pushes against the interior of the other plug. This seems to be a re-occurring problem for me if I am on the road and unplugging often.

Next check the transformer. The one that came with my hose failed after a few months. Radio Shack is a good source for a replacement (takes the Radio Shack "M" plug). Check the hose website or search here for other specs.