OT: How Do You Determine How Much Power Something Uses?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
WearyOne

OT: How Do You Determine How Much Power Something Uses?

Post by WearyOne » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:38 pm

By some other posts on here a while ago, I believe there are some very knowledge electrical people here! And I have an OT question in that regard. Please don't laugh-- I have a lot of knowledge about some things, a little knowledge about others, and no knowledge about electrical stuff!

How do you determine how much power an item draws? Trying to not overload a circuit. Is it amps, watts, something else, or a combination of things?

And the numbers on the circuit breakers (i.e, 30), what are those?

Thanks!

Pam

Phreak4u

Re: OT: How Do You Determine How Much Power Something Uses?

Post by Phreak4u » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:48 pm

Most everything is rated by watts. In some cases they list the amps that a product will draw. The romex used is buildings is rated at 600v and 20a average. in houses unless otherwise specified, it will be a little less amperage. (15a) So say you have a clock radio, lamp, and your cpap, all plugged into one outlet. You're good to go. If you overload a circuit, the breaker will pop immediately and you'll know at that point you need to find another outlet on a different circuit.
With all the stuff I have in my computer room( and there's quite a bit of it) running I've yet to overload the circuit.

Marc

WearyOne

Post by WearyOne » Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:20 pm