OK You M.O.M. Mouth-Tapers--I Don't Get It!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
plr66

OK You M.O.M. Mouth-Tapers--I Don't Get It!

Post by plr66 » Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 pm

I've been taping with Scotch 2-inch blue painter's tape since starting cpap 7 months ago. This has been without problem until I got tired of the very light tacky feel of my face in the mornings, even after washing my face in the shower. So I just tried the often-recommended Milk of Magnesia trick this weekend, and am wondering why I seem to be the only one to ever have the opposite experience of the predicted results! The MOM actually made the tape adhere more strongly than ever before, and despite removing the tape as slowly as possible, (as I have always done without any irritation to my skin whatever)--I ended up with a couple of small red places. Nothing big, and did not break skin, but a problem where I never had a problem previously. Geesh. Needless to say, I guess I'll toss the MOM and live with a tacky face for a couple of hours every morning. Any other solutions?
DeVilbiss IntelliPap Std Plus with Smartflex; Transcend miniCPAP & Everest2 w/humidifier & batt for travel. UltraMirage FFM; PadACheeks; PaPillow. Using straight CPAP at 13.0/passover humidifier. AHI consistently < 1.5. Began CPAP 9/4/08.

Steviemain

Re: OK You M.O.M. Mouth-Tapers--I Don't Get It!

Post by Steviemain » Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:10 pm

Hey PLR66 - I'm still a rookie in the CPAP process, but there is a good link by one of the veteran's about taping your mouth. Unfortunately, I don't remember who it was, but if you type in "mouth taping" in the search block you'll probably be able to find. One thing for sure, he did not say to use painter's tape...he said to use 3M 2" surgical paper tape or some facsimile of.....if you can find the link it clearly states what to use and how to use it...even down to the "fold 1/16th inch over at one end" to facilitate removal in the morning.

Good luck!