New to therapy, lots of long winded questions...

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
wil

New to therapy, lots of long winded questions...

Post by wil » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:43 pm

Hi all... Thanks so much for all you do, both technically and emotionally! I've been lurking for a couple of months, and keeping an eye out for my questions but haven't seen too much on them. I'm sure they're here (in the thousands of pages of info), but I can't find them.

I've been using xPap for almost exactly two months. I was diagnosed with an AHI >100, and was prescribed a machine (pressure set at 15 cm) and a full face mask. I was originally sent home with the machine (see below) and a FullLife full face mask. This gave me severe problems with the skin on the bridge of my nose breaking down and deteriorating. I was so happy to begin to sleep I ignored it until it got too bad to ignore.

The RT at my DME suggested I try a nasal mask instead, and sent me home with a ComfortGel Nasal mask and a chinstrap, which I've been using for the last six weeks or so. It is beginning to leak more and more over time. There were no appreciable leaks in the beginning, but they have begun to get worse and have begun making all sorts of noises (from typical mask burp to high pitch vibrations) which wake me and my sleep partner up. Further, since going from the full face to the nasal mask, I find that I can not sleep on my back. Just as I relax I can feel my palate collapse blocking exhale (which wakes me back up and I have to start over).

Now, for the questions.

1. The chinstrap seems like a stupid idea to me. Sure, my jaw is held closed (if I put it on tightly), but that does nothing to keep my lips securely closed at my high pressure level. It doesn't reduce mouth leaks when I use it but I have noticed that my teeth ache if I don't use it. Is that normal? Is there a better solution (and don't mention taping, I'll go back to not sleeping first)?