Low AHI but I don't feel rested

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
kinggrayskull

Low AHI but I don't feel rested

Post by kinggrayskull » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:34 pm

My AHI is only at 4.2, yet I don't feel refreshed at all!

I feel sleepy the whole day. ZZZZZ!

Beginner here. S9 Autoset was just purchased last week.

john.michael

Re: Low AHI but I don't feel rested

Post by john.michael » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:49 pm

Same here! We have to hang in there, I guess. I just read last night that ahi of 4 is much "worse" than ahi of 2. Mine still hits 8some nights...... Starting week2

Best wishes,
John

Machine - ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV

TooGroggy

Post by TooGroggy » Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:13 pm

What I came to realize pretty quickly when I started CPAP therapy is the a low AHI is necessary but not sufficient to make me feel rested. I had great numbers but I hardly slept for longer than 45 minutes before waking up to deal with a mask leak, a bad pressure point or some other equipment issue.

Two months and seven masks later, things are finally getting better. So hang in there.

Emilia

Post by Emilia » Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:16 pm

Give it some time..... you have sleep debt to pay off, a body that needs to heal from all the O2 deprivation it has endured. I'm in my 7th month and I am still a lot more tired than I thought I'd be at this point. Some folks are lucky and get that energy quickly, others it can take many months or even a year. My AHI is consistently under 2..... If your AHI is still too high, you should investigate the data (if you have the software for your machine) and see if there are leak issues or maybe a pressure tweaking is in order.

Keep plugging along..... it will get better!

Yes, that blue eyed beauty is my cat! He is a seal point, bi-color Ragdoll. I adopted him in '08 from folks who could no longer care for him. He is a joy and makes me smile each and every day.

Pugsy

Post by Pugsy » Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:20 pm