Is it safe to use CPAP in a lightning storm?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
CPAP Mom

Is it safe to use CPAP in a lightning storm?

Post by CPAP Mom » Sat May 28, 2011 7:10 pm

We have had a lot of severe lightning storms lately. I am wondering if it safe to use CPAP in a lightning storm. Can electricity conduct along the hose to you?

I appreciate any help.

sleepycarol

Re: Is it safe to use CPAP in a lightning storm?

Post by sleepycarol » Sat May 28, 2011 7:27 pm

I continue to use it, even during thunderstorms. If the power goes out it doesn't take long for me to wake up to remove the mask. Without it, I get very little sleep so would rather take my chances, besides the mask is made of plastic material and doubt it would be a good conductor even if the machine was zapped.
Start Date: 8/30/2007 Pressure 9 - 15
I am not a doctor or other health care professional. Comments reflect my own personal experiences and opinions.

LinkC

Post by LinkC » Sat May 28, 2011 8:03 pm

Lightning coming up thru the hose is not even a remote possibility.

Damage to your machine's power supply by a surge is a greater threat. I'd recommend a surge protector, even when it isn't storming. Even a $10 plug-in from Lowes will do the job.

Unlike his passengers who died screaming as the car went over the cliff...

archangle

Post by archangle » Sat May 28, 2011 8:05 pm

There's certainly a risk that a nearby lightning strike could ruin your CPAP machine.

I don't worry about electrocution through my CPAP from lighting. It doesn't seem likely that the lightning will take a path through the CPAP machine, jump from the electronics to the heated hose, jump to my body, then jump from my body to ground instead of taking another path to ground. However, sometimes lighting does what it darn well wants to. It could ignore the CPAP machine entirely and jump across the room and hit you directly.