Controlling OSA with weight loss??

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
soundersfootballclub

Controlling OSA with weight loss??

Post by soundersfootballclub » Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:45 pm

I am still in the early stages of being diagnosed and trying to learn everything I can. I could and should realistically drop say 10 pounds and would have a mid ranged body mass index reading of 22.9 from current 24.5 but wondering if this would have any affect on my OSA symptoms. I am guessing it would not since I've probably had mild symptoms all my life even when a good 20lbs lighter but curious if anyone here has used weight loss as another tool in addition or even ultimately in place of a CPAP. Thanks!

Resister

Re: Controlling OSA with weight loss??

Post by Resister » Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:54 pm

I'm a newbie too, but I'll tell you what the respiratory therapist told me the other day:

He's seen people ultimately get off C-Pap after losing a lot of weight, as long as that was the only reason they had it.

There are other factors besides weight that can play into OSA. I'm interested to hear what others have to say!
~Mama is happy when she sleeps with Pap-py~

kempo

Post by kempo » Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:01 pm

Not me. I lost 50lb over a 6 month period when I first started xpap. I am positive the xpap helped me be more active to lose the weight but my pressure settings have not gone down. As a matter of fact I started off with a setting of 8-10 and I have fine tuned in on 9.2-11 and my average AHI is 1.3.

I'm sure there are some who have lost a large amount of weight and lowered their pressure numbers but not me. I have been using my s9 now for a little over a year and I look forward to going to bed with it every night. It keeps my wind pipe open.

pap4life

Post by pap4life » Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:08 pm