CFlex and autoCPAP; 2 get or not to get w/ 8cm

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
dougc4

CFlex and autoCPAP; 2 get or not to get w/ 8cm

Post by dougc4 » Fri May 27, 2005 9:47 am

I’m a newbie, and am in the market for a CPAP machine, and have been trying to compare and make sense of the different options. (My insurance isn’t covering it, but I don’t mind spending the money on a machine that’s right for me. The way I see it, the more comfortable, the more chance I’ll continue using it, right?) My study showed an AHI of 37 and the doctor has recommended a setting of 8cm.

CFLEX: My doctor says that this option is not necessary for someone using a setting that low (8cm). Does anyone agree/disagree who uses asetting this low?

AutoCPAP: Again, my doctor says that this option is not necessary for someone using a setting that low (8cm). Does anyone agree/disagree who uses a setting this low? So many people on this board have sung such sweet praises of an Auto machine.

(I suppose I could get the REMstar Auto C-Flex CPAP and turn on or of the CFLEX and Auto functions if I don’t find them useful.)

Lastly she recommended a passover (cold) humidifier, and said the heated option was unnecessary to get, unless I develop sinus irritation.

BTW, this message board is great. The Drs. & DMEs just don’t give enough information for someone who really wants to be involved in their treatment. I’d be flying blind without it.

Thanks

Dougc4

NeurosurgeryNP

Post by NeurosurgeryNP » Fri May 27, 2005 10:13 am

I would definitely go with the heated humidifier. It makes such a hugh difference, not only in comfort, but also compliance.

As for the c-flex - I was set up on a straight cpap with "softx" or another company's equivelant of C Flex. The Rem Star version is much better and I feel it is so comfortable for me. I am only at a 9 - so it's great even for the lower pressures.