Anxious about first night

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Zzznomore

Anxious about first night

Post by Zzznomore » Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:39 pm

Hi Everyone,

Newly diagnosed, and tonight is my first night with my ResMed AirSense 10 APAP and Phillips Dreamware mask.

I'm excited to start feeling better. No doubt there. But I am anxious. During my home sleep study I had sever trouble falling asleep. I normally can't stand any restriction, pulling, tugging, rubbing at all. The mask does not seem as bad as the home sleep study gear, but it's not totally weightless either.

If you could give me ONE tip to make it a good first night, what would it be?

andy2016

Re: Anxious about first night

Post by andy2016 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:44 pm

I am a newbie myself. I would say make sure you are really tired prior to going to bed to put the mask on. I tried going to bed early and all I did was toss and turn and feel anxious. Not good.

Additional Comments: Started CPAP therapy June 13, 2016.......Sleep study showed AHI of 67.5. I use sleepyhead software. Pressure setting 11 to 14.5.

spmccord

Post by spmccord » Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:48 pm

Be patient and realistic. It takes a while (a week or so) to get used to wearing a mask to bed.

And do expect miracles overnight. Things will get better.

tiredgrl

Post by tiredgrl » Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:01 pm

Maybe spend some time wearing the mask while you watch TV, before you go to bed, to get used to how it feels.

Bons

Post by Bons » Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:16 pm

Do not give yourself permission to take it off and try again tomorrow if it bugs you. Do not take it off partway through the night if it wakes you up due to a leak or because you have to take a leak. Tough it out!

Some people take to it right away and some people need a few days/weeks to get used to it. But if you give yourself an excuse not to use it one night, it's hard to get back to using it again.

SleepDepraved2