how can I lower my AHI?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
melissa1974

how can I lower my AHI?

Post by melissa1974 » Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:33 am

Hi-
I am still a newbie trying to figure this all out, and so many of you have already been helpful on my other posts in getting me started. I am finally getting a bit of control over my leak rate with my Liberty mask and would now like to see my AHI numbers come down. Last night, my leak was only .06L/s, which I was happy with, however my AHI was 15.9 and my AI was 0.9. Now, I have already been told that some forum members automatically cut the HI number in half to calculate a more realistic AHI when using Resmed machines, however, that still leaves me with an AHI of 7.5.
What else can I do to lower my AHI? I had been getting lower AHI and AI numbers when my leak rate was higher, actually, but as I read through forum posts, I learned that those numbers may or may not be reliable. So, now that I have the leak under control, I feel that these are the real numbers.
Oh, and just to clarify....for right now, I am only using the data available each morning from my machine. I haven't purchased a card reader yet to start working with software.

Thanks.

Gerald

Re: how can I lower my AHI?

Post by Gerald » Sun Feb 21, 2010 9:30 am

Melissa......

The answer to your question is pretty well summed up in the last sentence of your message.

Get the software.....then, use experimentation, creativity, and good common sense to make your "lower AHI goal" happen.

You might also consider obtaining a recording Oximeter along with good software that will allow you to monitor your O2 saturation levels while sleeping. Keep in mind that a person can have a seemingly "just fine AHI score" while not actually keeping O2 levels where they should be.

Looking at the puzzle from two directions......CPAP software....and....Oximeter software....gives you the best indications on what you're doing right.

Gerald