Newbie Question

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
UppaMike

Newbie Question

Post by UppaMike » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:37 pm

This may seem like a dumb question to longtime hoseheads but consider that I am pretty new at this.

What is is the purpose of a titration study? I don't think I have had one but how would I know?

I got into CPAP by having a home sleep study which is all my insurance would pay for. Does that include a titration?

Be gentle with me, I am still learning!

UppaMike

library lady

Re: Newbie Question

Post by library lady » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:47 pm

Titration is where they figure out what pressures you need to stop your events, and I don't know how the titration happens in a home study. My guess is that they give you an autopap machine that senses what pressures are needed, and they probably use the results of that to determine your ipap and epap pressures. Those who know more about this part of a home study will likely chime in... so keep checking back for answers.

Now using AirFit F10 mask; Quattro Air is backup mask. RemZzzz mask liners with both.

kaiasgram

Post by kaiasgram » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:48 pm

Hi Mike and Welcome -- Not a dumb question. When someone has a titration study in the sleep lab/hospital they are put on a PAP machine and the techs determine what is the optimal pressure to control their apnea while they sleep. Not everyone has an in-lab titration. Some (like Kaiser patients) are sent home for a week or so with an auto-titrating (APAP) machine with the pressures set wide open. When the machine is returned the doc looks at where the pressure went and writes the prescription for a pressure range or a fixed single pressure. I've heard that in some cases a person who uses an online-based home sleep test is simply given a prescription for an APAP with settings wide open and there is no formal titration process. It's assumed that the APAP pressures will go where they need to go.