Extreme dry mouth

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Jackiehmc

Extreme dry mouth

Post by Jackiehmc » Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:34 am

I’ve been using a CPAP for 15 years with few problems. Recently I’ve been waking up in the night with extremely dry mouth. I’m not sure why. I also have mouth bubbles forming in my mouth and it seems to me that I am not mouth breathing but that the air flow inside my mouth from the machine is drying out my mouth. Anyone have this problem or any thoughts on how to resolve it? Thank you!

Miss Emerita

Re: Extreme dry mouth

Post by Miss Emerita » Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:32 am

If you're keeping your lips closed, the air bubbles sneaking in shouldn't produce a very dry mouth. This makes me suspect you are mouth-breathing.

One way to check is to try taping your lips for a few days to see whether the dry mouth stops. I'd recommend investing in a box of Somnifix strips for this experiment. Somnifix holds well but is gentle on the skin.
Oscar software is available at https://www.sleepfiles.com/OSCAR/

khauser

Post by khauser » Mon Jul 27, 2020 11:03 am

Jackiehmc wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:34 am
I’ve been using a CPAP for 15 years with few problems. Recently I’ve been waking up in the night with extremely dry mouth. I’m not sure why. I also have mouth bubbles forming in my mouth and it seems to me that I am not mouth breathing but that the air flow inside my mouth from the machine is drying out my mouth. Anyone have this problem or any thoughts on how to resolve it? Thank you!
Short of mouth breathing (which is pretty likely) the only other way I can see this happening is if you happen to have an unrepaired cleft palate. That's pretty darned UNlikely though.

chunkyfrog
Location: Nebraska--I am sworn to keep the secret of this paradise.

Post by chunkyfrog » Mon Jul 27, 2020 11:27 am

Dry mouth can also be a symptom of diabetes, which can worsen as we age.
Not everything is obvious.
Get your blood sugar tested.