Do I need higher pressure if my AHI is still high?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
snoozebabe

Do I need higher pressure if my AHI is still high?

Post by snoozebabe » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:41 am

I have been using my CPAP for 5 months now and the AHI is averaging 10.5 / 11. This is still higher than the recommended range.

I have no problem with mask leaks. The leakage is 0%.

Does it mean I need to get my upper limit pressure adjusted even higher (currently at 14)?
And if tonight my soul may find her peace
in sleep, and sink in good oblivion,
and in the morning wake like a new-opened flower
then I have been dipped again in God, and new-created.
~D.H. Lawrence

bdp522

Re: Do I need higher pressure if my AHI is still high?

Post by bdp522 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:39 am

Do you have the software so you can see your charts? What is the machines pressure set to? If you use it in auto mode and the low pressure is too low, you will have events until the pressure gets up to where it will stent the airway open. You may just need to raise the lower setting. If you don't have issues with runaway pressure or chasing snores, there is no reason to limit the upper pressure. The machine shouldn't go higher than needed. It is the lower pressure setting that seems to cause the most trouble.

Brenda

avi123

Post by avi123 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:29 am

Check this:

THE APNEA-HYPOPNEA INDEX: USEFUL OR USELESS?

Link:

http://www.respiratoryreviews.com/sep02 ... Index.html

“There is not much association between the AHI and anything else—sleepiness, muscle dysfunction,” or other markers for SDB, claimed Dr. Sullivan, who heads the Sleep Disorders Unit at the University of Sydney in Australia. The management of SDB should hinge on the history, examination, and clinical judgment," he asserted.

Not to cause other problems by raising the pressure it needs be done by someone who knows about it.

see my recent set-up and Statistics: