Options available for droolers and mouth breathers? New User

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
SouthSeaPirate

Options available for droolers and mouth breathers? New User

Post by SouthSeaPirate » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:12 am

So I decided to try my CPAP again after continuous lack of energy that's now leading into headaches.
To start, months ago I was given a nasal piece to breathe through, but found myself waking up with air gushing out of my open mouth
I would end up taking the device off in middle of the night and then a few days later gave up.
Tech came for a visit for updates, gave him the scoop, and he stated Im a mouth breather and just needed a face mask. I really didn't know I should have said this to begin with (and Im still a noob).
It didnt last.

The face mask has to be very tight, otherwise it wont seal. The mask hurts my rather large nose in the area where glasses would sit. I cant fault the mask for this cause tight or loose it's uncomfortable; I blame dad

Tried again last night due to the issues mentioned above. Assuming I can continue to deal with the nose issue, what can I do about drooling? I am constantly waking up and having to wipe out the mask.
What other options do I have or things I can try? Be it mask, nasal piece and chin strap, train myself to not be a mouth breather. Ill try it all lol.

Last night I only had about 6 hours sleep, and feel better than 7, 8 10, 12 hours sleep. Can't remember the last time I felt rested like this. So imagine if I could sleep though the night with 8 hours!

BlackSpinner

Re: Options available for droolers and mouth breathers? New User

Post by BlackSpinner » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:25 am

It is the wrong size. A full face mask should ride like a hovercraft on your face with its skirts inflated to cover the hills and valleys of your face. The tighter you make it the worse it will leak.