Total Newby But worried about machine making noise while inhaling

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
AHI88

Total Newby But worried about machine making noise while inhaling

Post by AHI88 » Sun Nov 25, 2018 6:13 am

Hi All, completely new to this. And my very first post.

I have the ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset machine now only for 4 days. The first 2 days I could not even hear it. In the last 2 days, it makes a wheezing sound everytime I inhale.
Even when I hold my breath I can hear the slight wheeze/fan sound following my heartbeat.

I've asked my wife on the opposite side of the bed and she can also confirm she can hear the breathing wheezy sound following my every inhalation?

Tried removing the humidifier and connected my Full face mask, but that has not made any difference to this new breathing noise.

Is this normal, I spent tonnes on the machine as my medical aid did not cover this. Of what I read ResMed prides themselves on quiet machines?

I've taken a video, but not so sure if you can hear what I mean?

https://youtu.be/3g-qj3bLTdc

Your opinions are most welcome.

Pugsy

Re: Total Newby But worried about machine making noise while inhaling

Post by Pugsy » Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:12 am

Welcome to the forum.

Sorry, I couldn't hear anything on the video but that might be on my end because the volume on my laptop leaves something to be desired even at max.

The only time my AirSense will wheeze is when I don't have the water chamber snugly inserted. It's silent otherwise.
If you are for sure that the water chamber is snugly inserted and nothing will reduce the unwanted noise and the noise is loud enough for a spouse to hear it....defective machine IMHO.
Especially when it was fine for a few nights and then the noise level changes and becomes annoying. Can you take it back to where you got it and get a different machine?