SoClean 3 - safe to use?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Mecate13

SoClean 3 - safe to use?

Post by Mecate13 » Tue Sep 17, 2024 1:32 pm

Hi, I'm new to using my cpap and it's going great. At the suggestion of a friend I ordered a SoClean 3 cleaner/sanitizer. It arrived and then I heard about the voluntary recall having to do ozone leakage. I called SoClean and they said it was a voluntary recall and that it did not apply to the machine itself, but had to do with instructions in the booklet. Booklet instructions have been revised. I'm wondering if it is safe to use? Thanks for your help with this.

Grumpy48

Re: SoClean 3 - safe to use?

Post by Grumpy48 » Tue Sep 17, 2024 2:09 pm

Excerpt from a a Resmed CPAP User Manual......

"Do not use bleach, chlorine, alcohol, or aromatic-based solutions, moisturizing or
antibacterial soaps or scented oils to clean the device, the water tub or air tubing. These
solutions may cause damage or affect the humidifier performance and reduce the life of
the products. Exposure to smoke, including cigarette, cigar or pipe smoke, as well as ozone
or other gases, may damage the device. Damage caused by any of the foregoing will not
be covered by ResMed’s limited warranty."

The SoClean sanitizes with the use of ozone. Using it may cause damage to the CPAP machine, thus Resmed will not warranty the unit. Ozone is not good for ones health either.

SoClean not recommended.

Another interesting read.....
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-a ... one-gas-or

Dog Slobber

Post by Dog Slobber » Tue Sep 17, 2024 3:28 pm

Do a search for "ozone compatibility", you will find hundreds of ozone handling companies, they publish charts rating how incompatible material is with ozone. Basically, how quickly ozone will destroy it.

ie: https://ozonesolutions.com/blog/ozone-c ... materials/

Some of these incompatible materials are inside your CPAP machine.
I called SoClean and they said it was a voluntary recall