OSA and Sleep Aids...Lunesta, Ambien, etc.

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
MellifluousBlues

OSA and Sleep Aids...Lunesta, Ambien, etc.

Post by MellifluousBlues » Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:23 pm

Hello all,
I am a noob to this forum but an OSA patient for over six years now. I have a few questions for whomever cares to share or is experiencing the same issues I have or has any idea/information that might be of help. But first the history...at least as completely as I can present at the moment.
When I was first diagnosed with OSA my first poloysomnogram showed an AHI of 50/hour and an RDI of 63/hour. I was miserable to say the least. I was put onto CPAP @ 11cmH2O and never really had any major compliance issues. Within a couple of days the chronic headaches that I would get, had been reduced and I started to feel a spring in my step again. Things were starting to look up.
Within a few months though, things started going backwards in terms of excessive daytime sleepiness. I brought this issue up with my doctor and was put on Provigil for EDS...starting @ 200mgs and working up to 400mgs before I stopped taking it all together. Even @ 400mg of Provigil I was still dealing with chronic EDS. At this point I had been taking Provigil for around a year or more and never found that it really did what it was suposed to and was only making profit for yet another drug company.